Famitsu’s Top Ten Famicom Games

In 2003, Japan’s leading game magazine, Famitsu, published a list of the top 100 Nintendo Family Computer games, as chosen by the fans.  And that list was…controversial, to say the least.  Much as been made of just how strange the list was.  In fact, there’s a whole article on it here.

Still, I used this list when I started collecting Famicom games a few years back.  Earlier this week, I found that my collection now included all of the list’s top-10.  And I decided to give each of these games a fair shake.  They weren’t (all) personal favorites growing up, but maybe there’s something to each of them that justified their inclusion on the list.  Or maybe, just maybe, it’s just a *terrible* list.  But I’ll never know until I fire up my top loader and judge for myself!

image

Time for some happy hobbying!

Leave a Reply

