Book-Off Haul for January 28th, 2015

I work in Akihabara, which is the near-undisputed Mecca (or…should that be “mecha”?  …I’ll show myself out) of otaku geek shopping culture.  Everything you could ever want, and plenty of things you wonder how anybody *could*, are available…usually at higher-than-online prices.  It’s kind of like a brick-and-mortar Amazon.jp…with a really amazing “You maybe also like…” feature.

But, it’s not always the best place to go for cheap impulse buys, on account of the “just about everything is cheaper online” thing I just mentioned.  Most Book-Off stores have their bargain-basement video games selling at 108 yen.  The Akihabara Book-Off’s version is 280 yen.

Still, every now and again, I drop by after work and browse.  Today was one of those days, and, SURPRISE, I actually *bought* stuff!

See!  Stuff!

See! Stuff!

Adding to my collection of theatrical programs are Lawrence of Arabia, Nightmare Before Christmas, and Superman II (which completes my set of Christopher Reeve Superman programs).

My video game library grows with the addition of Wii Sports (which wasn’t a pack-in title in Japan) and the classic Metal Slug for the PS1.

Finally, my ever-growing collection of original Pokemon memorabilia grows thanks to the addition of the Pocket Monster Master Note.  I’ll discuss this book in some detail at a later date, but it’s basically a small bit of Pokemon info…with a whole lot of space for you to make notes on each of the Pokemon you’ve collected.  There’s also a sticker section, because Nintendo LOVED stickers in the 90’s.

The whole haul ran me about 1,500 yen, which is about $14, a nice change of pace from my usual “didn’t buy anything because these prices are insane” trips to the Akiba Book-Off, and, of course, happy hobbying.

Leave a Reply

